Participate in expanding the Karaoke

gif

Depending on what your skills are, and more importantly on what you’d like to do, we could need your help.

Karaoke Mugen is a free and open-source project, everyone can participate and bring its own stone to it. For you it could be a good opportunity for :

  • Working with a group
  • Learn how to master git, nodeJS, React, Aegisub, video encoding, HTML, CSS, JS…
  • Put on your resume that you worked on a open-source project (some employers love it)
  • Get to know new people
  • Bring in your own skills and ideas
  • Most importantly, have fun and do soemthing together !

Whatever your case is, if you have questions, don’t hesitate and visit the contact page.

Here’s a list of things on which we could need help with.

**NOTE : ** Even though the issues are in french for the most part, we know how to speak english and can provide you with more information if you’re interested. We’ve been talking in french because so far we didn’t really have any english-speaker working with us.

The Karaoke database

  • Create your own karaoke songs : Hearing new songs, being surprised by your choices (and your tastes), this is karaoke too! If you’ve got a song y ou’d really like to see sung in public or with your friends, or even just by yourself only, or if you’ve noticed the database lacks some Bleach endings (spoiler : it doesn’t), go make your own karaoke!
  • Fix badly timed karaokes : We have some in our database and it’s no secret since we list them whenever we find them but we don’t always have time to repair those quickly. You need to know how to use Aegisub.
  • Replacing videos with better quality ones : A lot of our media are of standard or mediocre quality. We’ve made an issue to follow what we did so far. We have a lot of videos in HD resolution or such which are ready for use, but it takes some time since we need to verify that karaokes are still synced with the new videos. It’s a background task we do when we have free time, as there are more than 3000 low-resolution videos left! If you want to help, you should be familiar with video encoding and Aegisub.
  • We lack some info on a few karaoke songs like their singer, songwriter, or their title. Sometimes it’s from weird and old AMVs or MADs or other videos where we can’t seem to find any info on. The list of songs without information is kept updated here. You should know how to use a search engine or some good sites.
  • We’ve got a youtube channel! But we’d like someone to work full time on it before making it public. We’d like to offer some karaoke videos there, tutorials and other video presentations… Here’s the issue about it all.. You should know how to handle video and Youtube.
  • Jingles ! Our good friend Nock already made a few of them but if you’d like to make some new ones… These are shown inbetween songs during karaoke sessions, so help yourself if you’d like to contribute! You should know how to create videos.
  • Fullfill user requests! We often get some song requests, but we don’t always have time to do everything… If you have some time and want to time (or want to learn how to) create a karaoke file to make some people happy, come see us!

Development

We have a few projects left and right which could need some help :

  • Work with AnimeOpenings. We’d like to offer a way for people to quickly see what our karaokes are like via their browser. We made it so our database is synced with it but there are still a few bugs on our live app that we could need being ironed out, namely by fixing issues on AnimeOpenings which we use for that part of the site. PHP/Javascript knowledge is required.
  • The main app has a bunch of issues that need some love. Check the list here. Some of them involve SQL databases, others React and others just plain NodeJS, or even some black magic involving ffmpeg/mpv.
  • An Android client is being worked on. Even if you can do everything from the webapp, sometimes it feels nicer to have a native client on your smartphone or tablet device. Since we have an API, you can create your own alternative clients. If you’d like to work on the Android one Thaksin started, the git repository is here
  • A Karaoke Mugen server is being worked on. It offers a URL shortener for your instance, but also a karaoke file server so your instance can download new karaoke songs easily, display stats or unified online accounts. The project is in a early working state but needs more development to offer all these features You need to know how to use React, NodeJS and PostgreSQL.
  • Karaoke Mugen is also available for your Raspberry Pi! Xefir Destiny has offered his work on that topic, but there certainly are some ways in which it can be improved!

The Web part

  • The site web you’re reading right now could be improved! It uses Jekyll for its generation, but apart from that it’s plain HTML/CSS/JS. If you think you could make things look better or even help switch to a better static website generator, we’re all ears! The website’s code and content can be found here! We could need help witht he karaoke index, or localization, or how some pages are loading slowly.
  • Karaoke Mugen’s documentation is done, but could also be better! A better layout, a better translation, more example, more help, more screenshots… Sources are also available here!. We use MkDocs because it’s fairly simple, but there are surely better alternatives.
  • Twitter Game, Mastodon Game, Facebook Game… That’s all nice and fun but our presence on social networks is fairly minimal. Maybe we could do things better on that front. If you’re used to these tools, or have some nice ideas, I’d love to hear about them.

A better idea?

If you want to participate still but none of those topics get you excited, it’s not a problem at all. If you have a great, big idea to offer and if you’d like to help make it real, contact us!

Participer à l'expansion du karaoke

gif

Selon ce que vous savez faire, et surtout ce que vous aimeriez faire, on pourrait avoir besoin de vos compétences.

Karaoke Mugen est un projet libre, chacun peut y participer et y apporter sa pierre. Cela peut être pour vous une bonne occasion de :

  • Travailler en groupe
  • Apprendre à maitriser git, NodeJS, React, Aegisub, l’encodage vidéo, HTML, CSS, JS…
  • Faire valoir sur votre CV que vous avez participé à un logiciel ou projet libre (ne riez pas, c’est une expérience intéressante et appréciée !)
  • Faire connaissance avec des gens, rencontrer de nouvelles têtes
  • Apporter vos propres compétences
  • Le plus important, s’amuser et faire quelque chose tous ensemble !

Dans tous les cas, si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à visiter la page contact.

Voici une liste des tâches sur lesquelles on pourrait avoir besoin d’un coup de main :

La base de karaokés

  • Créez vos propres karaokés : Voir des nouveaux titres, être surpris par les choix (et les goûts de certains) c’est ça aussi le karaoké. Vous avez une chanson totalement improbable en tête, un kara que vous seul chanterez mais c’est pas grave, ou bien vous avez remarqué que la base manquait cruellement d’endings de Bleach (spoiler : c’est faux), alors foncez découvrir notre tutorial sur comment réaliser des karaokés !
  • Réparer des karaokés mal timés : Y’en a dans la base, ce n’est pas un secret vu qu’on les répertorie quand on les trouve mais on a pas toujours le temps de s’en occuper rapidement. Il faut savoir utiliser Aegisub.
  • Le remplacement des vidéos par de la meilleure qualité : Beaucoup de nos vidéos servant au karaoké sont en qualité standard voire médiocre. Nous avons un GDocs pour suivre tout ça (presque) bien. Nous possédons beaucoup de vidéos de haute qualité prêtes à être intégrées, mais cela prend un peu de temps car il faut vérifier que les karaokés ne se retrouvent pas décalés. C’est une tâche de fond que nous effectuons de temps en temps sur certaines vidéos, mais il en reste environ 400 ! Il faut savoir encoder des vidéos.
  • Il nous manque des informations sur certains karaokés comme le chanteur, compositeur, ou le titre. Parfois il s’agit d’obscures AMV ou d’autres vidéos où nous avons du mal à trouver les informations. La liste des karas sans information est tenue à jour ici. Il faut connaître les bonnes adresses et savoir chercher.
  • Des jingles ! Nock, Stal et Nabashi en ont déjà réalisé pas mal mais si l’envie vous prend de réaliser des choses rigolotes qui sont diffusées comme petits intermèdes entre les chansons, alors faites-vous plaisir ! Montage vidéo, animation, c’est comme vous le sentez !
  • Des intros ! Kmeuh a ouvert le bal en réalisant quelques vidéos de démarrage de session karaoké, reprenant des intros déjà existantes dans le vrai monde réel de la réalité véritable. Vous êtes les bienvenus pour en proposer d’autres !
  • Exaucer les souhaits des utilisateurs ! On nous fait régulièrement des suggestions de karaokés à créer, mais on a pas le temps de tout faire… Si vous avez un peu de temps et l’envie de timer (ou apprendre à) des karaokés pour faire plaisir à ceux qui en demandent, alors venez nous voir !

Développement

Il y a pas mal de petits projets à droite à gauche sur lesquels on peut avoir besoin d’aide :

  • Travailler avec les développeurs de AnimeOpenings. Grâce à Karaoke Mugen Live vous pouvez essayer des karaokés depuis votre navigateur. Live est basé sur AnimeOpenings et on a industrialisé le tout pour que ça soit synchronisé avec la base de karas de Karaoke Mugen, mais il reste des bugs relous à élucider ou filer un coup de main à AnimeOpenings. PHP/Javascript seront de mise.
  • L’application Karaoke Mugen a une floppée de tickets ouverts qu’il faut résoudre. Vous pouvez voir la liste ici. Certains demandent de savoir manipuler React, d’autres juste NodeJS, d’autres de connaître les bases de données PostgreSQL ou encore faire de la sorcellerie avec ffmpeg/mpv.
  • Un serveur Karaoke Mugen est en cours de développement. Il permet de fournir un raccourcisseur d’URL pour vos instances, mais aussi de servir de base de téléchargement pour vos fichiers karaokés, offrir des stats, ou des comptes en ligne unifiés. Le projet fonctionne mais n’en est qu’à ses débuts et ne demande que vos compétences en NodeJS et React. Par exemple pour améliorer la liste des karaokés.
  • Karaoke Mugen est disponible pour votre Raspberry Pi ! Xefir Destiny a mis à disposition son travail sur le sujet, mais il y a sûrement des choses à améliorer si vous aimez bricoler sur Raspberry Pi !

La partie web

  • Le site web sur lequel vous êtes a toujours besoin d’améliorations ! Il utilise Jekyll pour se générer, mais sinon c’est du bête HTML/CSS/JS de base. Si vous pensez pouvoir améliorer des choses ou même passer à un autre système de génération plus puissant et plus intéressant, nous sommes ouverts à toute suggestion. En attendant le code du site web est disponible !
  • La documentation de Karaoke Mugen est là, mais elle pourrait être mieux ! Meilleure mise en page, meilleure traduction en anglais, plus d’exemples, plus d’aide, plus didactique… Les sources sont aussi disponibles ici !. Nous utilisons MkDocs parce que c’est simple, mais il y a certainement mieux ailleurs !
  • Le Twitter Game, le Mastodon Game, le Facebook Game… C’est mignon tout ça mais notre présence sur les réseaux sociaux est minimale. Il y a peut-être des choses à améliorer ici aussi. Si vous êtes familiers avec ces outils et avez des idées sur ce qu’on pourrait faire, ça serait pas mal.

D’autres idées ?

Vous avez envie de participer mais rien de tout cela ne vous botte, pas de problème. Vous avez une idée géniale à proposer et aimeriez vous en occuper ? Contactez-nous !